Writing 201: Day 2 – Gift, Acrostic, & Simile

Please please excuse my terrible poetry. I’m trying and just bear with me. But I certainly make no promises. The subject is “gift”, the style is “acrostic” (which is basically spelling something with the first or last letters of the lines of the poem), and the extra (I guess) is “simile” (comparing things that don’t normally get compared). I’d love to hear your thoughts. 🙂

The giving of a gift, is a special thing indeed,

Hope, as bright as a sunset, lights their eyes

Everyone wonders what it could be

Guided paper holds a surprise

Inside could be anything at all

Visibly beautiful, wrapped with a bow

I wonder what you got in the haul

Now sweat forms on your brown

Giving or getting, it’s all a good time.

5 thoughts on “Writing 201: Day 2 – Gift, Acrostic, & Simile

  1. Yes, awesome once again, 😀 perhaps it is brow not brown?
    The other day I found a clink the link in someone post, quite humorous though they were not aware of it 😀 Write On Miss Poet we are wanting more. I always have to come back and visit!

  2. No worries! I push publish in the middle of the day and find errors on my own 😀 I need to practice Reading it out loud before publishing but I get ready to then forget tags, category , all this mechanics-i guess – stuff of blogs. I am learning how to edit even my comments that I screw up.

Leave a Reply

