Wanderlust and Wordy Wednesday: Dahlonega, GA

I’m taking another break from the Writing 101 and Blogging 201 courses for tonight. I will try to do them tomorrow, but if I find myself still playing catch-up, I will finish them this weekend. 🙂 Tonight is another night for quotes. I’ve came across some good ones that I’ve been dying to share. I’m also going to share another location that I love today! 😀


Today’s lovely North Georgia Mountain destination is Dahlonega. It was the sight of the first major gold rush in the United States and still has operational gold mines. It was founded in 1828. It’s located an hour north of Atlanta and is quickly becoming a hot spot for wine, as well. Historic Downtown is one of our favorite destinations for our motorcycle rides.

Historic Downtown has grown up a lot over the past few years. It’s full of nice places to eat. Might I recommend Shenanigans? It’s a great little Irish style pub. The Dahlonega Gold Museum is a great place to see as well. There are great civil war sights, ghost tours, two theaters, and great shops. Be sure to stop in at The Dahlonega General Store for great home decor, toys, southern “Gourmet” foods, and HillBilly Products. Be sure to grab one of their famous 5 cent cups of coffee! Yes, 5 cents. No joke.

While there, you should also swing by the Chestatee River Diving Bell. It’s from the 1800’s. It was the only submersible gold mining operation in Georgia. It’s open-bottomed (to allow gold panning), pressurized, submersible that was raised and lowered through a well in the boat it was tethered to. It’s an interesting piece of history and it’s worth a visit.

Dahlonega. It’s pure gold. 😉


“Dead people receive more flowers than the living ones because regret is stronger than gratitude.” – Anne Frank’s Diary

“The person who broke you can’t be the one to fix you. Remember that.”

“And sometimes I have kept my feelings to myself, because I could find no language to describe them in.” – Jane Austen

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don’t need to escape from.” – Seth Godin

“Never love anyone who treats you like you’re ordinary.” – Oscar Wilde

“I knew who I was this morning but I’ve changed a few times since then.” – Alice In Wonderland

“The trouble is, you think you have time.” – Buddha

“When I was little I picked up a flower and put it in a vase. After a few days, it died. I asked my mom why and she said: “You can’t force a flower to thrive somewhere it doesn’t belong to.” And now I have realized that people are like that too.”

“I see your figure from across the valley, head down as a sign of defeat, Hands clenched on the times you were happy, Body sweating from the intense heat, The flames are now high as your kneecaps, Their movements reflect in your eyes, Still easy to see from this distance, That it takes all you have not to cry, I could send you my voice on the breezes, But my throat is determined to choke, Not sure if it’s stuck on emotion, Or smothered in all of this smoke, You yell out that I should just leave you, You’ll be better once you are alone, These fires will fight the dark winter, That threatens to freeze all your bones, But the cold’s not the reason I’m worried, Nor the clouds that are heavy with rain, It’s the fact that you’d rather be burning, Than admit to the world you’re in pain, And the hurt that will come when you realize, Once to ashes the flames have been turned, That there’s no warmth in a fire born solely, From all of the bridges you’ve burned.” – e.h.

4 thoughts on “Wanderlust and Wordy Wednesday: Dahlonega, GA

  1. Hey howdy near neighbor! Hoping to go get some gold, or some sites seen in D! That’s on our ‘list’ so thanks for the links 😀 and the quotes are good, I like Jane A.’s and the one from Alice in W. , Catch up when you can, it is a journey………..not a race. (read that somewhere)

    • I hope you have a good time! It’s always fun. We were there in May and the whole historic Downtown was decorated like Christmas because they were filming a movie called “Christmas in the Smokies”!

Leave a Reply

